Sewerby is a small village two miles north of Bridlington on the coastal road towards Flamborough.
Sewerby Hall at Sewerby was built by John Greame between 1714 and 1720. His successors added to the house and Sewerby Hall now has fine period rooms of the Georgian, Regency and Victorian eras, including a magnificent 19th century conservatory known as the Orangery.
Sewerby Hall is also the Museum of East Yorkshire and features an East Yorkshire photography gallery, a display of regional history and the Yorkshire Showcase Gallery which has a varied exhibition programme of regional contemporary arts and crafts. There is also an Amy Johnson room displaying a collection of her awards, trophies and momentoes. The estate bought by Bridlington Corporation in 1934 was opened to the public on 1st June 1936 by Amy Johnson.